The special contribution

What is this?

Since 2008, the Belgian Federal Government has levied an annual tax, called the "special contribution", on the owners of Belgium's nuclear power plants. To recap, they are Electrabel, EDF Belgium, which holds a 50% stake in Tihange 1, and EDF Luminus, holding a 10.2% stake in the Doel 3, Doel 4, Tihange 2 and Tihange 3 reactors.

Synatom's role

Under the Act from 2003, Synatom is responsible for collecting this special contribution on behalf of the Belgian State, and so since 2008 Synatom has paid €2.7 billion in all into State coffers.

In 2015, the special contribution came to €200 million.